Contact Us
Our Services
Site Map
Proactive Disclosure

Conference Quick Search

For general searches use Quick search to select the year and/or month. For a more detailed search click on the Advanced Search

Advanced Search

Subscribe to the RSS feed Subscribe to the RSS feed

Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Twitter



BANFF, October 17, 2014 — Federal, provincial and territorial (FPT) Ministers responsible for Justice and Public Safety today concluded a two-day meeting to discuss and exchange ideas on key justice and public safety issues of importance to Canadians.
The meeting was co-chaired by the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, Peter MacKay, P.C., Q.C., the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, Steven Blaney, P.C., and the Minister of Justice and Solicitor General of Alberta, Jonathan Denis, Q.C.

“These meetings with my provincial and territorial colleagues allowed for a constructive and frank dialogue on justice issues facing all Canadians. Many of the items discussed are of utmost importance and it is crucial for us to work together, find solutions collectively that improve our justice system. We must collaborate where we can, and within our areas of jurisdiction. One outcome is clear: protecting Canadians and our communities is imperative for everyone. The Federal Government will continue to encourage all our provincial and territorial colleagues to pursue this discussion and collaboration, to meet and fulfil our common objectives.”

Peter MacKay, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada

“This annual meeting is an invaluable opportunity for federal, provincial and territorial Ministers to be briefed on progress that has been achieved on priority issues raised at past meetings, and to discuss how we will proceed with these and new issues that have arisen over the last year. Perspectives, concerns and suggestions raised by colleagues are extremely helpful in helping us achieve our common goal of keeping Canadians safe.”

Steven Blaney, Canada’s Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness

“Providing appropriate federal funding for legal aid and countering violent extremism were key elements of the discussions with our federal, provincial, and territorial partners. Alongside our counterparts, Alberta will continue to play a leadership role in the national dialogue on working toward innovative solutions to challenges we face across Canada in our justice and public safety systems.”

Jonathan Denis, Minister of Justice and Solicitor General

Violence Against Aboriginal Women and Girls

Ministers discussed the status of the Draft Justice Framework to Address Violence Against Aboriginal Women and Girls which was released in November 2013. Ministers agreed on the importance of continued collaboration across and within jurisdictions, as well as with Aboriginal communities and other partners to further refine the framework and address this issue. Recognizing the importance of continued action, Ministers agreed to release a progress report which includes an overview of the status of the draft framework and examples of activities already underway to prevent and to respond to violence against Aboriginal women and girls. The progress report also identifies a series of further commitments to targeted action by Ministers during 2014-2015. Ministers agreed to meet before the next annual meeting to discuss progress on this issue.

Countering Violent Extremism (CVE)

Ministers emphasized that the threat of homegrown terrorism is a significant concern for all levels of government. Ministers also recognized the importance of involving communities in addressing the issue. They agreed to fully support discussions on CVE initiatives and to continue exploring opportunities to collaborate with other ministries within their jurisdictions.

Economics of Policing

Ministers were updated on progress being made on the Economics of Policing Shared Forward Agenda and approved the proposed next steps which provinces and territories will implement as they deem appropriate. Ministers reaffirmed their support for the ongoing collaborative efforts to increase the efficiency and effectiveness of policing and public safety in Canada. Ministers also supported holding another Summit on the Economics of Policing.

First Nations Policing Program

Ministers emphasized the importance of maintaining professional, dedicated and culturally-responsive policing services in First Nation and Northern communities. Federal and provincial/territorial governments agreed to work collaboratively to finalize outstanding agreements. PT Ministers asked the federal government to consider expanding funding for the First Nations Policing Program. Territorial Ministers reiterated their desire to have their jurisdictions included in the First Nations Policing Programs. Ministers agreed on the need for innovation in the delivery of police services to address the challenges of remote communities and that there will be further collaboration to address concerns about the future of the Band Constable Program.

Support for Justice and Public Safety Programs

Ministers discussed issues related to important programs, including enhancing the capacity of the Canadian Police Information Centre and funding for Drug Treatment Courts, which are key to better serving and protecting Canadians and our communities. FPT Ministers are committed to continuing to work on these issues.

Legal Aid

FPT ministers discussed the important role of legal aid in delivering an accessible and effective criminal justice system for all Canadians. Ministers acknowledged the need for continued innovation to maximize the effectiveness and efficiency of legal aid. In the context of the current funding agreements, provincial ministers reiterated their request for increased federal funding in recognition of changing demographics across the country. Ministers reiterated the emphasis for continued collaboration between the Federal government and the provinces and territories to strengthen legal aid and the justice system for Canadians.

Victims Bill of Rights

Ministers expressed strong support for the objectives of the proposed Victims Bill of Rights. PT Ministers noted that many initiatives had been taken in their own jurisdiction, given their constitutional responsibility for the administration of justice. They identified and discussed implementation challenges, particularly in regards to existing PT programs and services for victims. Ministers also agreed that legal and implementation considerations should be addressed by FPT senior officials in a timely fashion. The federal Ministers committed that funding would be made available to provinces and territories to assist in the implementation of the Bill.

Prostitution Law Reform

FPT Ministers discussed the proposed Protection of Communities and Exploited Persons Act and the federal government’s commitment to provide funding, taking into account provincial and territorial priorities, for programs that prevent persons from becoming involved in prostitution and assist exploited persons who wish to leave prostitution.

Family Justice Relocation Issues

Ministers discussed the family law issue of relocation of a child to a new jurisdiction in custody cases. Ministers acknowledged the importance of providing separated parents with assistance to resolve their child custody arrangements. Ministers agreed to refer the issue to an FPT working group for study and consultation, and to develop recommended options on an expedited basis.

Tougher Penalties for Child Sex Offenders

The federal Ministers gave a status update on the proposed federal Tougher Penalties for Child Predators Act and High Risk Child Sex Offender Database. Ministers agreed on the need for further consultations and collaboration with provinces and territories on the creation of the Database. The federal Public Safety Minister committed to ensuring the federal database would be compatible with similar provincial initiatives.

Access to Justice Framework

Ministers engaged in a discussion around access to justice priorities and asked officials to continue working on the development of an access to justice framework on family, civil and administrative law. Building on the important work of the national Action Committee on Access to Justice in Civil and Family Matters, and others, Ministers agreed to support efforts to facilitate greater FPT collaboration and information-sharing on access to justice priorities.

Access to Subscriber Information

The federal Justice Minister described implications of the Supreme Court of Canada decision in R. v. Spencer (police access to information on subscribers to Internet Service Providers), for the criminal justice system. Given the serious implications of this decision on public safety, Ministers agreed to ask senior officials to consider options that would balance the needs of law enforcement and the privacy interests of Canadians.

Prosecution of Workplace Fatalities

Ministers agreed to continue working collaboratively to share best practices to improve the investigation and enforcement of existing federal and provincial laws to ensure workplace safety for Canadians. Ministers agreed to engage relevant stakeholders as appropriate.

Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) and Sentencing

Ministers reviewed a report from the Sentencing Working Group on FASD. The recommendations of the working group were appreciated and Ministers directed officials to conduct further research on key issues, taking into consideration the input of the Canadian Bar Association and Private Members Bill C-583, An Act to Amend the Criminal Code (Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder).

Other items

Ministers also discussed other justice and public safety related issues such as a Supreme Court of Canada decision regarding Aboriginal title, organized crime, impaired driving and offender reintegration.

– 30 –

For further information:

Clarissa Lamb
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Justice

Jean-Christophe de Le Rue
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Public Safety
and Emergency Preparedness

Media Relations Office
Department of Justice

Media Relations Office
Public Safety Canada

Contactez-nous
Nos Services
Conférences
Médias
Publications
Liens
Carte du site
Divulgation Proactive

Conférences – Recherche

Pour une recherche rapide, choisissez l'année et/ou le mois. Pour une recherche plus détaillée, cliquez sur Recherche avancée.



Recherche avancée

Abonnez-vous à notre fil RSS  Abonnez-vous à notre fil RSS

Suivez-nous sur Twitter Suivez-nous sur Twitter

Conférences

COMMUNIQUÉ - LES MINISTRES FÉDÉRAUX, PROVINCIAUX ET TERRITORIAUX TERMINENT UNE RÉUNION PRODUCTIVE SUR LES QUESTIONS DE JUSTICE ET DE SÉCURITÉ PUBLIQUE AUXQUELLES FONT FACE LES CANADIENS ET CANADIENNES

BANFF, le 17 octobre 2014 – Les ministres fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux (FPT) responsables de la justice et de la sécurité publique ont conclu aujourd’hui deux jours de discussions et d’échanges sur les questions de justice et de sécurité publique qui revêtent une importance particulière pour les Canadiens et Canadiennes.

La réunion était coprésidée par le ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada, Peter MacKay, C.P., c.r., le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, Steven Blaney, C.P., et le ministre de la Justice et solliciteur général de l’Alberta, Jonathan Denis, c.r.

« Ces réunions avec mes collègues provinciaux et territoriaux ont permis un dialogue constructif et franc au sujet d’enjeux en matière de justice qui sont communs à l’ensemble des Canadiens et Canadiennes. Un grand nombre de points discutés revêtent une importance capitale et il est essentiel pour nous de travailler ensemble et de trouver collectivement des solutions qui permettent d’améliorer notre système de justice. Nous devons collaborer là où c’est possible, et dans le respect de nos compétences respectives. Une chose est claire : la protection des Canadiens et Canadiennes et de nos communautés est impérative pour tous et chacun. En vue d’atteindre nos objectifs communs, le gouvernement fédéral continuera d’encourager tous les collègues des provinces et des territoires à poursuivre cette discussion et cette collaboration. »

Peter MacKay, ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada

« Cette réunion annuelle constitue pour les ministres fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux une occasion précieuse d’être informés des progrès réalisés sur des questions prioritaires soulevées lors des réunions précédentes, de discuter du suivi que nous allons y apporter et de traiter des nouvelles questions soulevées au cours de la dernière année. Les points de vue, les préoccupations et les suggestions soulevés par mes homologues sont extrêmement utiles dans l`atteinte de notre objectif commun visant à assurer la protection des Canadiens et des Canadiennes. »

Steven Blaney, ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile

« La nécessité d’une contribution de fonds fédéraux adéquats en matière d’aide juridique et la lutte contre l’extrémisme violent ont été des éléments clés des discussions avec nos partenaires fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux. De concert avec nos homologues, l’Alberta continuera de jouer un rôle de premier plan dans le cadre du dialogue national axé sur la recherche de solutions novatrices à des défis auxquels nous sommes confrontés à travers le Canada à l’intérieur de nos systèmes de justice et de sécurité publique. »

Jonathan Denis, ministre de la Justice et solliciteur général.

Violence faite aux femmes et aux filles autochtones

Les ministres ont discuté de l’état d’avancement du Cadre juridique provisoire visant la lutte contre la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles autochtones, rendu public en novembre 2013. Les ministres ont reconnu l’importance de poursuivre la collaboration entre les différents gouvernements et à l’intérieur de ceux-ci, ainsi qu’avec les communautés autochtones et autres partenaires en vue de peaufiner le cadre et d’examiner cette question. Reconnaissant l’importance de poursuivre les efforts, les ministres ont convenu de rendre public un rapport provisoire qui comporte un aperçu de l’état d’avancement du Cadre, ainsi que des exemples d’actions en cours qui visent à prévenir et à contrer la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles autochtones. Le rapport provisoire présente également des mesures ciblées que les ministres se sont engagés à prendre au cours de 2014-2015. Les ministres ont convenu de se rencontrer avant la prochaine réunion annuelle en vue de discuter des progrès réalisés à cet égard.

Lutte contre l’extrémisme violent (LEV)

Les ministres ont souligné que la menace du terrorisme d’origine intérieure (LEV) constitue une préoccupation importante pour tous les ordres de gouvernement. Les ministres ont également reconnu l’importance de l’implication des communautés à l’étude de la question. Ils ont convenu d’appuyer pleinement les discussions relatives à la LEV et de continuer d’examiner les possibilités de collaboration avec d’autres ministères au sein de leurs gouvernements respectifs.

Paramètres économiques des services de police

Une mise à jour des progrès accomplis dans le cadre du Programme commun de l’initiative sur les paramètres économiques des services de police a été présentée aux ministres et ceux-ci ont approuvé les prochaines étapes proposées, lesquelles seront mises en œuvre par les provinces et les territoires dans la mesure où ils le jugent approprié. Les ministres ont réaffirmé leur volonté de poursuivre la collaboration afin d’accroître l’efficience et l’efficacité des services de police et de la sécurité publique au Canada. Les ministres ont aussi appuyé la tenue d’un autre Sommet sur les paramètres économiques des services de police.

Programme des services de police des Premières nations

Les ministres ont souligné l’importance de maintenir des services de police professionnels, spécialisés et culturellement adaptés au sein des communautés des Premières nations et du Nord. Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont convenu de collaborer afin de finaliser les ententes qui ne l’ont pas été. Les ministres PT ont demandé au gouvernement fédéral d’envisager d’accroître le financement du Programme des services de police des Premières nations. Les ministres territoriaux ont réitéré qu’ils souhaitaient que le programme des services de police des Premières nations s’applique aux territoires. Les ministres ont convenu d’une part, qu’il est nécessaire d’innover en matière de prestation de services policiers pour faire face aux enjeux auxquels sont confrontées les communautés éloignées, et d’autre part, qu’il y aura une collaboration accrue afin de répondre aux préoccupations relatives à l’avenir du Programme des agents de police des bandes.

Appui pour les programmes en matière de justice et de sécurité publique

Les ministres ont discuté d’enjeux associés à d’importants programmes, notamment celui du renforcement de la capacité du Centre d’information de la police canadienne et du financement des Tribunaux de traitement de la toxicomanie, lesquels sont essentiels pour mieux servir et protéger les Canadiens et Canadiennes et nos communautés. Les ministres FPT sont déterminés à poursuivre les travaux sur ces questions.

Aide juridique

Les ministres FPT ont discuté de l’important rôle que joue l’aide juridique pour offrir aux Canadiens et Canadiennes un système de justice pénale accessible et efficace. Les ministres ont reconnu la nécessité de poursuivre l’innovation afin de maximiser l’efficacité et l’efficience de l’aide juridique. Dans le contexte des ententes de financement en cours, les ministres provinciaux ont réitéré leur demande d’accroissement du financement fédéral afin de tenir compte de l’évolution démographique à travers le pays. Les ministres ont de nouveau souligné l’importance de la poursuite de la collaboration entre le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces et territoires en vue de renforcer l’aide juridique et le système de justice pour les Canadiens et Canadiennes.

Charte des droits des victimes

Les ministres ont exprimé un appui solide à l’égard des objectifs du projet de loi, Loi sur la Charte des droits des victimes. Les ministres PT ont indiqué que plusieurs initiatives ont déjà été mises en place au sein de leurs gouvernements respectifs, compte tenu de leur compétence constitutionnelle en matière d’administration de la justice. Ils ont identifié et discuté des défis que le projet de loi présente sur le plan de la mise en œuvre, tout particulièrement eu égard aux programmes et services PT existants offerts aux victimes. Les ministres ont également convenu que des hauts fonctionnaires FPT devraient examiner en temps opportun les considérations d’ordre juridique et de mise en œuvre. Les ministres fédéraux se sont engagés à ce que les provinces et les territoires bénéficient d’un financement pour la mise en œuvre du projet de loi.

Réforme des dispositions législatives sur la prostitution

Les ministres FPT ont discuté du projet de loi, Loi sur la protection des collectivités et des personnes victimes d’exploitation, et de l’engagement du gouvernement fédéral d’offrir, en tenant compte des priorités provinciales et territoriales, un financement pour les programmes qui visent à prévenir l’entrée des personnes sur le marché de la prostitution et à venir en aide aux personnes victimes d’exploitation qui souhaitent sortir de ce milieu.

Justice familiale – Questions relatives au déménagement d’un enfant

Les ministres ont discuté de la question, soulevée en droit de la famille, du déménagement d’un enfant dans une autre province ou un autre territoire dans les affaires de garde d’enfants. Les ministres ont reconnu l’importance d’aider les parents séparés à s’entendre sur des modalités en matière de garde. Les ministres ont convenu de renvoyer la question à un groupe de travail FPT afin qu’il étudie la question, fasse des consultations et propose rapidement des recommandations à cet égard.

Renforcement des peines pour les délinquants ayant commis des infractions sexuelles contre des enfants

Les ministres fédéraux ont fait le point sur le projet de loi, Loi sur le renforcement des peines pour les prédateurs d’enfants, et sur le projet de banque de données concernant les délinquants sexuels à risque élevé (infractions sexuelles visant les enfants). Les ministres ont convenu de la nécessité de poursuivre les consultations et la collaboration avec les provinces et les territoires concernant la création de cette banque de données. Le ministre fédéral de la Sécurité publique s’est engagé à veiller à ce que la banque de données fédérale s’harmonise avec des initiatives similaires présentes dans certaines provinces.

Cadre de l’accès à la justice

Les ministres ont discuté des priorités en matière d’accès à la justice et demandé que des fonctionnaires poursuivent l’élaboration d’un Cadre d’accès à la justice en matière de droit de la famille, de droit civil et de droit administratif. Basé sur le fondement de l’important travail du Comité national d’action sur l’accès à la justice en matière civile et familiale et d’autres intervenants, les ministres ont convenu d’appuyer les efforts visant à faciliter, à l’échelle FPT, une collaboration et un échange accrus d’informations sur les priorités en matière d’accès à la justice.

Accès aux renseignements des abonnés

Le ministre fédéral de la Justice a décrit l’incidence que la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada dans l’affaire R. c. Spencer (l’accès par la police à des renseignements sur les abonnés de fournisseurs de services Internet) entraîne pour le système de justice pénale. Compte tenu des répercussions importantes de cette décision sur la sécurité publique, les ministres ont convenu de demander à des hauts fonctionnaires d’examiner des options qui permettraient d’établir un juste équilibre entre les besoins des forces de l’ordre et les droits en matière de vie privée des Canadiens et Canadiennes.

Poursuites relatives aux accidents mortels en milieu de travail

Les ministres ont convenu de continuer à collaborer à la mise en commun de pratiques exemplaires dans le but d’améliorer les enquêtes et l’exécution des textes législatifs fédéraux et provinciaux existants afin de garantir la sécurité des Canadiens et Canadiennes en milieu de travail. Les ministres ont convenu de faire appel au besoin à des intervenants pertinents.

L’ensemble des troubles causés par l’alcoolisation fœtale (ETCAF) et la détermination de la peine

Les ministres ont examiné un rapport sur l’ETCAF, préparé par le Groupe de travail sur la détermination de la peine. Les ministres ont pris bonne note des recommandations du Groupe de travail et ont demandé aux fonctionnaires de procéder à d’autres recherches sur des questions importantes, en tenant compte des commentaires de l’Association du Barreau canadien et du projet de loi d’initiative parlementaire C-583, Loi modifiant le Code criminel (Ensemble des troubles causés par l’alcoolisation fœtale).

Autres questions

Les ministres ont aussi discuté d’autres questions en matière de justice et de sécurité publique, notamment d’une décision de la Cour suprême du Canada concernant un titre ancestral, du crime organisé, de la conduite avec capacités affaiblies et de la réinsertion sociale des délinquants.

– 30 –

Information :

Clarissa Lamb
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre de la Justice
613-992-462

 

Jean-Christophe de Le Rue
Directeur des communications
Cabinet du ministre de la Sécurité publique
et de la Protection civile
613-991-2924

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Ministère de la Justice
613-957-4207

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Sécurité publique Canada
613-991-0657