Contact Us
Our Services
Conferences
Media
Publications
Links
Site Map
Proactive Disclosure

Conference Quick Search

For general searches use Quick search to select the year and/or month. For a more detailed search click on the Advanced Search



Advanced Search

Subscribe to the RSS feed Subscribe to the RSS feed

Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Twitter

Conferences

PRESS RELEASE - FEDERAL-PROVINCIAL-TERRITORIAL MEETING OF MINISTERS RESPONSIBLE FOR EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT

VICTORIA, May 4, 2012 —Federal-Provincial-Territorial Ministers responsible for emergency management met today in Victoria to discuss emergency management priorities. The meeting was co-chaired by the Honourable Vic Toews, Minister of Public Safety Canada and the Honourable Shirley Bond, British Columbia Minister of Justice and Attorney General.

“I am pleased with today’s discussions and the progress achieved to further advance emergency management in Canada,” said Minister Toews. “This meeting provided an opportunity for each jurisdiction to bring attention to local priorities as we continue to collaborate to improve the safety and security of Canadians and safeguard communities threatened by natural hazards and other emergencies.”

“British Columbia is pleased to co-chair this meeting and to welcome our provincial and territorial colleagues in advance of Emergency Preparedness Week,” said Minister Bond. “With the increase in the number and severity of natural hazard incidents, it is critical that we work closely together to keep Canadians safe. Today, we focussed on areas such as emergency response in Aboriginal communities, all-hazards emergency planning, mitigation and building a strong communications infrastructure. As we move forward we are committed to supporting one another as effectively as possible.”

The Ministers re-affirmed participation in Canada’s public alerting system which is designed to alert Canadians to emergencies. Alberta, which already has a public alerting system in place, reiterated its support for a robust national emergency alerting system for all of Canada. Albertans will continue to receive their warnings from broadcasters via the Alberta Emergency Alert System. Other provinces which have pre-existing public alerting systems will be integrating with the national public alerting system.

Twelve provincial and territorial governments and Environment Canada are working on putting the required infrastructure and protocols in place to distribute or receive public safety emergency alerts. Once television and radio broadcasters and other media begin to distribute the alerts, Canadians will all benefit from these timely warnings.

The Ministers discussed the development of a national disaster mitigation program, recognizing that mitigation can lessen the impact of natural disasters on vulnerable communities and reduce the associated costs by investing in structural (such as dikes) or non-structural (such as flood mapping) mitigative measures. Ministers have asked their officials to continue to work together on this program.

The Ministers also acknowledged significant accomplishments during the first year of the Communications Interoperability Strategy and Action Plan for Canada , which was introduced at the Ministers’ 2011 meeting in Toronto. During its first year, progress under the Communications Interoperability Action Plan includes the development of future communications systems that will be effective in situations requiring a multi-agency response.

The Ministers indicated their support for increasing the portion of the 700 MHz broadband spectrum for public safety use from 10 MHz to 20 MHz, which would ensure public safety emergency responders in Canada and along the Canada-U.S. border have the capacity to deliver real time multi-media information when needed.

The Ministers considered and approved the proposed eligibility criteria for an emergency management exemplary service award, which will officially recognize the contribution of emergency management employees and volunteers to their communities across Canada.

“In closing, I would like to remind all Canadians that next week is Emergency Preparedness Week in Canada, which is an example of federal/provincial/territorial cooperation,” added Minister Toews. “This year’s theme is: Make a Plan. I would like to invite all Canadians to join in local activities. You can visit GetPrepared.ca and your provincial/territorial emergency management organization’s web site for more information on how to make a family emergency plan.”

-30-

Emergency Preparedness (EP) Week is an annual event that takes place this year from May 6-12. This national event is coordinated by Public Safety Canada, in close collaboration with the provinces and territories and partners.


For further information:

Media Relations
Public Safety Canada
613-991-0657

BC Government Communications and Public Engagement
Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General
250-356-6961

Contactez-nous
Nos Services
Conférences
Médias
Publications
Liens
Carte du site
Divulgation Proactive

Conférences – Recherche

Pour une recherche rapide, choisissez l'année et/ou le mois. Pour une recherche plus détaillée, cliquez sur Recherche avancée.



Recherche avancée

Abonnez-vous à notre fil RSS  Abonnez-vous à notre fil RSS

Suivez-nous sur Twitter Suivez-nous sur Twitter

Conférences

COMMUNIQUÉ - RÉUNION FÉDÉRALE-PROVINCIALE-TERRITORIALE DES MINISTRES RESPONSABLES DE LA GESTION DES URGENCES

VICTORIA, le 4 mai 2012 — Les ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux responsables de la gestion des mesures d’urgence se sont rencontrés aujourd’hui à Victoria pour discuter des priorités en matière de gestion des urgences. La réunion a été coprésidée par l’honorable Vic Toews, ministre de Sécurité publique Canada, et l’honorable Shirley Bond, ministre de la Justice et procureure générale de la Colombie-Britannique.

« Je suis satisfait des discussions tenues aujourd’hui et des progrès réalisés pour améliorer davantage la gestion des situations d’urgence au Canada, a affirmé le ministre Toews. La réunion a permis à chaque gouvernement de mettre l’accent sur ses préoccupations tout en continuant de collaborer afin d’accroître la sécurité de la population canadienne et de protéger les collectivités menacées par des catastrophes naturelles ou d’autres situations d’urgence. »

« La Colombie-Britannique est heureuse de coprésider la réunion et d’accueillir ses homologues provinciaux et territoriaux avant la Semaine de la sécurité civile, a affirmé la ministre Bond. Alors que les catastrophes naturelles se font de plus en plus nombreuses et de plus en plus graves, il est essentiel que nous collaborions étroitement pour assurer la sécurité de la population canadienne. Aujourd’hui, nous mettons l’accent sur des aspects tels que l’intervention d’urgence dans les communautés autochtones, la planification de la gestion tous risques, les mesures d’atténuation et l’aménagement d’une infrastructure des communications solide. À mesure que se poursuivent nos efforts, nous nous engageons à nous entraider aussi efficacement que possible. »

Les ministres ont réaffirmé leur participation au système d’alertes au public du Canada, lequel a été conçu pour alerter la population canadienne en cas d’urgence. L’Alberta, qui bénéficie déjà de son propre système d’alertes au public, a réaffirmé son soutien envers la mise en œuvre d’un système national d’alerte robuste pour l’ensemble du pays. Les Albertains continueront de recevoir leurs avertissements des diffuseurs par l’entremise du système d’alertes d’urgence de la province. D’autres provinces qui possèdent déjà un système d’alertes au public intégreront celui-ci au système national.

Douze gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, et Environnement Canada, travaillent à mettre en place les infrastructures et les protocoles requis pour diffuser et recevoir des alertes de sécurité publique. Lorsque les stations de radio et de télévision et les autres médias commenceront à diffuser ces alertes, l’ensemble de la population canadienne bénéficiera rapidement de ces avertissements.

Conscients du fait que les mesures d’atténuation peuvent réduire les conséquences des catastrophes naturelles dans les collectivités vulnérables, de même que les coûts qui en découlent, si l’on investit dans les mesures d’atténuation structurelles (les digues) ou non structurelles (la cartographie des inondations), les ministres ont discuté de l’élaboration d’un programme national d’atténuation des catastrophes et ont demandé aux responsables de continuer à travailler ensemble à ce programme.

Les ministres ont également souligné les grands progrès réalisés au cours de la première année de mise en œuvre de la Stratégie canadienne et du Plan d’action d’interopérabilité des communications, qui a été présenté à la réunion des ministres de 2011, à Toronto. Durant cette première année, l es progrès réalisés grâce au Plan d’action d’interopérabilité des communications comprennent l’élaboration de systèmes pour les communications futures, qui seront efficaces en cas de situation nécessitant une intervention multiorganisme.

Les ministres ont indiqué être d’accord pour faire passer de 10 MHz à 20 MHz la portion du spectre à large bande de 700 MHz désignée pour la sécurité publique. Cela garantirait aux intervenants d’urgence en sécurité publique, au Canada et le long de la frontière canado-américaine, la possibilité de transmettre de l’information multimédia en temps réel lorsque nécessaire.

Les ministres ont examiné et approuvé les critères d’admissibilité proposés pour le prix de services distingués dans le domaine de la gestion des mesures d’urgence, qui reconnaîtra officiellement les contributions que les employés et les bénévoles du milieu de la gestion des urgences ont apportées dans leurs collectivités partout au Canada.

« Finalement, j’aimerais rappeler à toute la population canadienne que la semaine prochaine est la Semaine de la sécurité civile au Canada, un exemple de collaboration fédérale, provinciale et territoriale, a ajouté le ministre Toews. Le thème de l’année est : Préparer un plan. J’invite toute la population canadienne à participer aux activités organisées dans leur région. Vous pouvez aussi visiter le site Web Preparez-vous.ca et les sites Web des organismes de gestion des urgences de votre province ou de votre territoire pour obtenir des renseignements sur la préparation d’un plan d’urgence familial. »

- 30 -

La Semaine de la sécurité civile est une activité annuelle qui a lieu cette année du 6 au 12 mai. Elle est coordonnée par Sécurité publique Canada en étroite collaboration avec les provinces, les territoires et les partenaires.

Renseignements


Relations avec les médias
Sécurité publique Canada
613-991-0657

Communications du gouvernement et Participation du public de la
Colombie-Britannique
Ministère de la Sécurité publique et du solliciteur général
250-356-6961