Contact Us
Our Services
Conferences
Media
Publications
Links
Site Map
Proactive Disclosure

Conference Quick Search

For general searches use Quick search to select the year and/or month. For a more detailed search click on the Advanced Search



Advanced Search

Subscribe to the RSS feed Subscribe to the RSS feed

Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Twitter

Conferences — Annual Conference of Federal-Provincial-Territorial Ministers of Health — PRESS RELEASE - FEDERAL, PROVINCIAL AND TERRITORIAL HEALTH AND HEALTHY LIVING / WELLNESS MINISTERS AGREE ON WAYS TO STRENGTHEN THE HEALTH OF CANADIANS

PRESS RELEASE - FEDERAL, PROVINCIAL AND TERRITORIAL HEALTH AND HEALTHY LIVING / WELLNESS MINISTERS AGREE ON WAYS TO STRENGTHEN THE HEALTH OF CANADIANS

ST. JOHN’S, Newfoundland and Labrador – At their annual meeting today Canada’s Ministers of Health discussed a range of issues important to strengthening the health of Canadians.

Ministers endorsed* a Declaration on Prevention and Promotion that will guide their efforts to promote healthy living across Canada. In response to Canada’s high rates of childhood obesity, Ministers also released Curbing Childhood Obesity: A Federal-Provincial-Territorial Framework for Action to Promote Healthy Weights. As a first step they will engage citizens, government and non-government partners, and industry to develop a shared approach to turn the tide on childhood obesity. This will include discussions on different ways to increase the availability and accessibility of nutritious foods, and decrease the marketing of foods and beverages high in fat, sugar and/or sodium to children.

“I am extremely pleased that we reached agreement to focus more of our attention on helping Canadians, especially children, lead healthier lives,” said the Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of Health. “Childhood obesity is a national public health challenge that requires all sectors to get involved.”

“By working together we can change the social, economic and physical environments that influence the health of children and families,” said the Honourable Jerome Kennedy, Minister of Health and Community Services, Newfoundland and Labrador. “We must focus on early education and support for healthy eating, physical activity and positive self-esteem in order to address the true cause of obesity.”

Ministers reviewed the latest scientific knowledge related to ongoing research in the area of Multiple Sclerosis treatment. Recognizing how difficult and frustrating living with MS is for thousands of Canadians, Ministers re-affirmed their collective support for advancing the scientific research necessary to determine the safety and effectiveness of the MS liberation procedure.

Ministers agreed on a way forward. There are studies underway where preliminary results are expected to be available in a matter of months. Ministers supported Canadian research efforts that have been launched to date to determine if there is a link between CCSVI and MS and will work together to responsibly accelerate this scientific research. Coordinated clinical trials of the CCSVI treatment will happen in Canada if and when the scientific evidence supports it. Ministers’ resolve to work together is strong. They are committed to doing everything they can to accelerate progress in this area.

Ministers acknowledged the role of governments in working with all stakeholders to help create the conditions that make the healthy choice the easier choice. Sodium reduction is an important part of healthy living and Ministers are encouraging Canadians to reduce their consumption to close to 1500 mg per day, the recommended daily intake for Canadians aged 9 to 50 years of age, and less for those younger and older.

Ministers adopted the interim goal of reducing the sodium intake of Canadians to a population average of 2,300 mg per day by 2016. This represents a reduction by one-third from present levels of 3,400 mg per day. In support of this effort, Health Ministers call on industry leaders to fast-track voluntary sodium reduction in food products, and to work with governments to increase education and awareness of consumers, industry, health professionals and other key stakeholders.

Ministers support the immediate implementation of voluntary targets including a monitoring mechanism and engaging in exploratory discussions on the role that regulatory instruments could play and under what conditions they could be used.

Ministers also received a status update on Canada’s isotope supply situation and will continue to study the impact of the past year’s supply disruptions. Minister Aglukkaq acknowledged a request from the P/T Ministers to strengthen the security of Canada’s isotope supply.

* It should be noted that although Quebec shares the general goals of the Declaration and Framework for Action, it was not involved in developing them and does not subscribe to a Canada-wide strategy in this area. Quebec intends to remain solely responsible for developing and implementing programs for promoting healthy living within its territory. However, Quebec does intend to continue exchanging information and expertise with other governments in Canada.

-30-

For more information:

Declaration on Prevention and Health Promotion: www.phac-aspc.gc.ca
Curbing Childhood Obesity: An FPT Framework for Action to Promote Healthy Weights: www.phac-aspc.gc.ca

Additional resources:

      1. Declaration (full version):
         http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/hp-ps/hl-mvs/declaration/index-eng.php

      2. Framework (full version):
         http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/hp-ps/hl-mvs/framework-cadre/index-eng.php


Media contacts:

Health Canada Media Relations
(613) 957-2983

Public Health Agency of Canada Media Relations
(613) 941-8189

Jenny VanAlstyne
Office of the Honourable Leona Aglukkaq
Federal Minister of Health
(613) 957-0200

Tansy Mundon
Director of Communications
Department of Health and Community Services for Newfoundland and Labrador
709-729-1377
tansymundon@gov.nl.ca

Contactez-nous
Nos Services
Conférences
Médias
Publications
Liens
Carte du site
Divulgation Proactive

Conférences – Recherche

Pour une recherche rapide, choisissez l'année et/ou le mois. Pour une recherche plus détaillée, cliquez sur Recherche avancée.



Recherche avancée

Abonnez-vous à notre fil RSS  Abonnez-vous à notre fil RSS

Suivez-nous sur Twitter Suivez-nous sur Twitter

Conférences — Conférence annuelle des ministres fédéral-provinciaux-territoriaux de la Santé — COMMUNIQUÉ - LES MINISTRES DE LA SANTÉ ET DES MODES DE VIE SAINS/DU BIEN-ÊTRE FÉDÉRAL, PROVINCIAUX ET TERRITORIAUX S'ENTENDENT SUR DES FAÇONS D'AMÉLIORER LA SANTÉ DES CANADIENS

COMMUNIQUÉ - LES MINISTRES DE LA SANTÉ ET DES MODES DE VIE SAINS/DU BIEN-ÊTRE FÉDÉRAL, PROVINCIAUX ET TERRITORIAUX S'ENTENDENT SUR DES FAÇONS D'AMÉLIORER LA SANTÉ DES CANADIENS

ST. JOHN’S, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador – Lors de leur réunion annuelle, aujourd’hui, les ministres de la Santé du Canada ont discuté de divers enjeux pour améliorer la santé de la population canadienne.

Les ministres ont adopté* une Déclaration sur la prévention et la promotion qui orientera leurs efforts de promotion de modes de vie sains à l’échelle du Canada. En réponse au taux élevé d’obésité infantile au Canada, les ministres ont aussi rendu public le document Freiner l’obésité juvénile : Cadre d’action fédéral, provincial et territorial pour la promotion du poids santé. Dans un premier temps, ils inciteront les citoyens, les partenaires gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux et l’industrie à élaborer une approche conjointe afin de freiner l’épidémie d’obésité juvénile. Ce processus comprendra des discussions sur diverses façons d’accroître la disponibilité et l’accessibilié des aliments nutritifs et de réduire le marketing auprès des enfants des aliments et des boissons riches en matières grasses, en sucres et en sodium.

« Je suis ravie que nous ayons convenu d’aider les Canadiens, surtout les enfants, à adopter de saines habitudes. L’obésité infantile est un problème national de santé publique qui interpelle tous les secteurs », a déclaré l’honorable Leona Aglukkaq, ministre de la Santé.

« Ensemble, nous pouvons modifier les aspects sociaux, économiques et physiques qui ont une incidence sur la santé des enfants et des famille », a déclaré l’honorable Jerome Kennedy, ministre de la Santé et des Services communautaires de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. « Nous devons miser sur l’éducation précoce, et prôner une saine alimentation, l’activité physique et l’estime de soi si nous voulons nous attaquer aux véritables causes de l’obésité.»

Les ministres ont examiné les données scientifiques les plus récentes issues de la recherche sur le traitement de la sclérose en plaques (SP). Sachant à quel point il est difficile et frustrant de vivre avec cette maladie pour les milliers de Canadiens atteints, les ministres ont réaffirmé leur soutien à l’avancement la recherche scientifique qui permettra d’évaluer l’innocuité et l’efficacité du traitement libérateur de la sclérose en plaques.

Les ministres se sont entendus sur un plan d’action. Les résultats préliminaires de certaines études en cours devraient être rendus publics d’ici quelques mois. Les ministres ont appuyé les efforts de recherche menés à ce jour au Canada dans le but d’établir s’il existe des liens entre l’insuffisance veineuse céphalorachidienne chronique (IVCC) et la SP et collaboreront en vue d’accélérer de façon responsable la recherche scientifique à cet égard. Des essais cliniques coordonnés sur le traitement de l’IVCC se dérouleront au Canada si les observations scientifiques le commandent. Les ministres sont fermement résolus à collaborer et se sont engagés à faire le maximum pour accélérer les progrès dans ce domaine.

Les ministres reconnaissent que les gouvernements doivent collaborer avec les intervenants à la mise en place de conditions qui feront du choix-santé le choix le plus facile. La réduction du sodium est un élément important du choix-santé, et les ministres encouragent les Canadiens à réduire leur consommation de sodium à près de 1 500 mg par jour, apport quotidien recommandé pour les Canadiens âgés de 9 à 50 ans, alors que cet apport doit être encore plus bas chez les enfants et les personnes âgés.

Les ministres ont adopté un objectif intérimaire de réduction de l’apport moyen en sodium à 2 300 mg par jour pour l’ensemble de la population d’ici 2016. Cela représente une réduction du tiers de l’apport actuel de 3 400 mg par jour. Pour y parvenir, les ministres de la Santé inciteront les dirigeants de l’industrie à accélérer la réduction volontaire du sodium dans les aliments, et à travailler avec les gouvernements pour sensibiliser le consommateur, l’industrie, les professionnels de la santé et d’autres intervenants clés.

Les ministres ont signifié leur appui à l’adoption immédiate de cibles volontaires assorties d’un mécanisme de suivi, ainsi qu’à l’amorce de discussions exploratoires sur le rôle potentiel et les conditions d’utilisation de mesures de réglementation.

Les ministres ont également été mis au courant de la situation de l’approvisionnement en isotopes au Canada et continueront d’étudier les répercussions des perturbations dans l’approvisionnement survenues l’an dernier. La ministre Aglukkq a pris acte la demande des ministres provinciaux et territoriaux à l’effet de rendre plus sécuritaire l’approvisionnement du Canada en isotopes.

* Bien que le Québec vise lui aussi les objectifs de la Déclaration et du cadre d’action, il n’a pas participé à leur élaboration et n’adhère pas à une stratégie pancanadienne en la matière. Le Québec a l’intention d’élaborer ses propres programmes de promotion de saines habitudes de vie, mais entend maintenir l’échange d’information et de connaissances spécialisées avec les autres administrations publiques du Canada.

Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez consulter :
Déclaration sur la prévention et la promotion : www.phac-aspc.gc.ca
Réduire l’obésité chez les enfants : un plan d’action FPT pour promouvoir un poids santé  : www.phac-aspc.gc.ca

Ressources additionnelles :

      1. Déclaration (version complète) :
         http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/hp-ps/hl-mvs/declaration/index-fra.php

      2. Cadre (version complète) :
        http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/hp-ps/hl-mvs/framework-cadre/index-fra.php


Personnes-ressources pour les médias

Relations avec les médias, Santé Canada
613-957-2983

Relations avec les médias, Agence de santé publique du Canada
613-941-8189

Jenny VanAlstyne
Cabinet de l’honorable Leona Aglukkaq
Ministre fédérale de la Santé
613-957-0200

Tansy Mundon
Directeur des communications
Ministère de la Santé et des Services communautaires de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
709-729-1377
tansymundon@gov.nl.ca