Contact Us
Our Services
Conferences
Media
Publications
Links
Site Map
Proactive Disclosure

Conference Quick Search

For general searches use Quick search to select the year and/or month. For a more detailed search click on the Advanced Search



Advanced Search

Subscribe to the RSS feed Subscribe to the RSS feed

Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Twitter

Conferences — Federal-Provincial-Territorial Meeting of Ministers responsible for Emergency Management — PRESS RELEASE - FEDERAL-PROVINCIAL-TERRITORIAL MINISTERS MEET TO DISCUSS EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT

PRESS RELEASE - FEDERAL-PROVINCIAL-TERRITORIAL MINISTERS MEET TO DISCUSS EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT

OTTAWA, September 11, 2013 —Federal-Provincial-Territorial Ministers responsible for emergency management met today in Ottawa to discuss emergency management priorities. The meeting was co-chaired by the Honourable Steven Blaney, Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness and the Honourable Suzanne Anton, British Columbia Attorney General and Minister of Justice.

“This meeting with my provincial and territorial colleagues today has been productive. Ministers Doug Griffiths from Alberta and Stéphane Bergeron from Quebec have highlighted some of the lessons they drew from events in Southern Alberta and Lac-Mégantic,” said Minister Blaney. “We have agreed on the need for federal, provincial and territorial governments to work closely on emergency management to ensure the safety and security of Canadians and to find more effective ways to better protect Canadian communities from disasters.”

“B.C. will continue to collaborate with our federal, provincial, and territorial colleagues to protect public safety,” said Minister Anton. “Specifically, we are eager to work together on a national disaster mitigation program that will result in proactive, cost-effective solutions to protect our communities.”

Ministers all recognized that mitigation efforts can lessen the impact of disasters on communities and reduce the costs associated with these events.  They were all supportive of working together on the timely development of a future national disaster mitigation program.

Ministers tasked officials to consider a means by which jurisdictions can access an inventory of emergency management assets, services and resources across the country.

Ministers also discussed the importance of mandatory broadcaster participation in Canada’s National Public Alerting System, which is designed to warn Canadians of imminent threat-to-life emergencies. Ministers agreed to request that the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission take steps to ensure that Canadian commercial broadcasters and cable and satellite companies be required to broadcast emergency alerts. Albertans will continue to receive their warnings from broadcasters via the Alberta Emergency Alert System.

Ministers acknowledged the challenges surrounding emergency management in Aboriginal communities. They committed to increase collaboration and engagement to better support emergency management in Aboriginal communities.

Ministers also discussed progress on making a portion of the 700 MHz broadband spectrum accessible to emergency responders for public safety use and noted the joint federal-provincial-territorial efforts underway regarding a potential public safety broadband network.

“I am pleased that I can count on the on-going collaboration of my provincial and territorial colleagues. It is important that we continue the dialogue on the future of emergency management in Canada to enhance the safety and security of Canadians,” added Minister Blaney.

-30-

For further information:

Jean-Christophe de Le Rue
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
613-991-2924

Media Relations
Public Safety Canada
613-991-0657

BC Government Communications and Public Engagement
Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General
250-356-6961

Contactez-nous
Nos Services
Conférences
Médias
Publications
Liens
Carte du site
Divulgation Proactive

Conférences – Recherche

Pour une recherche rapide, choisissez l'année et/ou le mois. Pour une recherche plus détaillée, cliquez sur Recherche avancée.



Recherche avancée

Abonnez-vous à notre fil RSS  Abonnez-vous à notre fil RSS

Suivez-nous sur Twitter Suivez-nous sur Twitter

Conférences — Réunion fédérale-provinciale-territoriale des ministres responsables de la gestion des urgences — COMMUNIQUÉ - LES MINISTRES FÉDÉRAL, PROVINCIAUX ET TERRITORIAUX SE RÉUNISSENT AFIN DE DISCUTER DE LA GESTION DES URGENCES

COMMUNIQUÉ - LES MINISTRES FÉDÉRAL, PROVINCIAUX ET TERRITORIAUX SE RÉUNISSENT AFIN DE DISCUTER DE LA GESTION DES URGENCES

OTTAWA, le 11 septembre 2013 – Les ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux responsables de la gestion des urgences se sont réunis aujourd’hui à Ottawa afin de discuter des priorités en matière de gestion des urgences. La réunion a été coprésidée par l’honorable Steven Blaney, ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, et par l’honorable Suzanne Anton, procureure générale et ministre de la Justice de la Colombie‑Britannique.

« Cette réunion avec mes collègues provinciaux et territoriaux aujourd’hui a été fructueuse. Les ministres Doug Griffiths, de l’Alberta, et Stéphane Bergeron, du Québec, ont souligné certaines des leçons qu’ils ont tirées des événements qui se sont produits dans le Sud de l’Alberta et à Lac-Mégantic », a déclaré le ministre Blaney. « Nous convenons de la nécessité d’une étroite collaboration entre les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux au chapitre de la gestion des urgences en vue d’assurer la sécurité des Canadiens et de trouver des façons efficaces de mieux protéger les collectivités canadiennes contre les catastrophes. »

« La Colombie-Britannique continuera de collaborer avec ses collègues fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux afin de protéger la population », a déclaré la ministre Anton. « En particulier, nous sommes impatients de travailler ensemble à l’élaboration d’un programme national d’atténuation des catastrophes qui apportera des solutions proactives et rentables afin de protéger nos collectivités. »

Les ministres ont tous reconnu que la mise en place de mesures d’atténuation peuvent diminuer les conséquences négatives des catastrophes sur les collectivités et réduire les coûts associés à ces événements. Ils sont tous disposés à continuer de collaborer à l’élaboration d’un nouveau programme national d’atténuation des catastrophes.

Les ministres ont demandé aux responsables de trouver un moyen pour donner aux administrations l’accès à un inventaire des actifs, des services et des ressources en matière de gestion des urgences dans l’ensemble du pays.

Les ministres ont par ailleurs discuté de l’importance de rendre obligatoire la participation des diffuseurs au système national d’alertes au public du Canada, qui a été conçu pour avertir les Canadiens des urgences imminentes constituant une menace pour la vie. Les ministres ont d’ailleurs convenu de demander au Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes de prendre des mesures obligeant les diffuseurs commerciaux et les entreprises de câblodistribution et de communications par satellite du Canada à diffuser les alertes d’urgence. Les Albertains continueront de recevoir leurs avertissements des diffuseurs par l’entremise du système d’alertes d’urgence de la province.

Les ministres sont conscients des défis entourant les services de gestion des urgences dans les collectivités autochtones. Ils se sont engagés à accroître la collaboration et la participation en vue d’appuyer davantage la gestion des urgences dans les collectivités autochtones.

Les ministres ont également discuté des progrès réalisés en vue de mettre une partie du spectre à large bande de 700 MHz à la disposition des intervenants d’urgence à des fins de sécurité publique. Ils ont en outre évoqué les efforts fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux déployés relativement à un éventuel réseau à large bande consacré à la sécurité publique.

« Je suis heureux de pouvoir compter sur la collaboration continue de mes collègues provinciaux et territoriaux. Il est important de poursuivre le dialogue portant sur l’avenir de la gestion des urgences au Canada afin d’améliorer la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens », a ajouté le ministre Blaney.

-30-

Renseignements

Jean-Christophe de Le Rue
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile
613-991-2924

Relations avec les médias
Sécurité publique Canada
613-991-0657

Communications du gouvernement et Participation du public de la
Colombie-Britannique
Ministère de la Sécurité publique et du solliciteur général
250-356-6961